April 24th, Prakash Ramadhar's last day as COP leader

Wednesday, March 9, 2016 - 20:00

The Congress of the People has set April 24th as the day for the election of a new executive, including the post of political leader.

The current COP leader, Prakash Ramadhar has indicated that he will be stepping down from the post.

The following is a COP statement issued on Wednesday:

"The official Notice of the COP Leadership Elections 2016 was issued today (Wednesday) as required by the COP constitution.

This Notice informs the members of the conduct of elections on Sunday, 24 April 2016 as decided by the National Council of the COP at its meeting on February 21 and of the Elections Timetable as approved at the Council's meeting on March 6.

The Notice advises of the posts to be contested on April 24 which are:

Political Leader, Chairman, Deputy Chairman, Secretaries of Finance, Field Operations, Education & Research, Communications, Public Relations, Membership & Mobilisation and Elections & Voter Registration.

"All members of the COP who joined the party on or before 30 October 2015 and are financial shall be eligible to vote in and/or contest these election as candidates." COP General Secretary, Clyde Weatherhead, informed the media this morning.

"The COP elections are being conducted by the party's Elections Commission headed by Mr. Nizam Mohammed who may be contacted by email at [email protected] or at 293-0094 for further information on the elections process and updates." Mr. Weatherhead added.

"The banner for the COP Leadership Elections 2016 is "Charting the Way Forward for the COP.

"All members are asked to ensure that they are on the Membership List and financial by calling the COP ELECTION HOTLINE 671-1134 any day Monday to Friday between 9:00 a.m., and 4:00 p.m. These elections will establish the team to lead the COP as it continues its re-invigoration as it prepares to contest General Elections in 2020. All members are called upon to get involved in these important elections for the future of the COP - the party of the Change Agenda for Trinidad and Tobago.", the COP General Secretary ended."