No room for Neymar on FIFA's 'Player of the Year' list

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi were among the names on the shortlist for FIFA’s player of the year award, but there was no room for Brazil star Neymar in the 10 nominees.

FIFA announced the list on Tuesday for the coveted FIFA Best Male Player accolade, with two-time winner Ronaldo making the cut along with Barcelona star Messi.

Also on the list was French teen sensation Kylian Mbappe, along with fellow World Cup winners Antoine Griezmann and Raphael Varane.

Croatia’s World Cup Golden Ball winner Luka Modric was also named, as was England’s Golden Boot winner Harry Kane.

Belgian playmaker Kevin De Bruyne was also nominated along with countryman Eden Hazard, while Egypt striker Mohamed Salah was included on the back of last season’s record-breaking goalscoring exploits for club team Liverpool.

Perhaps the most conspicuous absentee was the world’s most expensive player, Neymar, who finished third on the FIFA list last season. 

The Paris Saint-Germain star suffered an injury-hit season, missing several months toward the end of the campaign after a foot problem, and also failed to hit the heights during the World Cup in Russia, where Brazil crashed out to Belgium in the quarter-final.

While Neymar demonstrated flashes of his talent during the World Cup, he was also widely criticized for his theatrical responses to tackles.

The full list is:

Cristiano Ronaldo
Kevin De Bruyne
Antoine Griezmann
Eden Hazard
Harry Kane
Kylian Mbappe
Lionel Messi
Luka Modric
Mohamed Salah
Raphael Varane

Favourite count: 
Favourite count ids: