THA's Presiding Officer resigns

Thursday, November 21, 2019 - 13:45

Dr. Denise Tsoiatfatt-Angus resigned from her position as Presiding Officer of the Tobago House of Assembly on Thursday.

Her resignation letter to the Assembly’s Legislature Clerk was leaked on social media before her 1:30 pm official announcement to the media.

Sources say Tsoiatfatt-Angus is making way to contest the position of the political leader of the People's National Movement (PNM) Tobago Council internal elections.

Chief Secretary Kelvin Charles made a similar move in January 2016, when he resigned as the Assembly's presiding officer.

He contested the election and was appointed the party's Tobago political leader.

All 17 PNM Tobago Council positions, from political party leader to welfare officer, are up for grabs in the party's Tobago internal elections on January 19, 2020.