Voice faces five monarchs in Calypso Monarch final

A newcomer, four former calypso monarchs and five women will be among 15 artistes who will attempt to dethrone reigning Calypso Monarch and nine-time title holder Hollis “Chalkdust”

Liverpool at the Dimanche Gras show at the Queen’s Park Savannah on Sunday.

Making his debut in the calypso arena, Aaron St Louis, the reigning Soca Monarch, won the judges’ nod with his popular hit Year for Love.

Former calypso monarchs Kurt Allen, Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna, Karene Asche and Sandra “Singing Sandra” Des Vignes-Millington, are also among the artistes who qualified for the finals following Saturday’s Calypso Fiesta at Skinner Park, San Fernando.

The other finalists are Alana “Lady Watchman” Sinnette-Khan, Carlos “Skatie” James, Dexter “The Stinger” Parsons, Helon Francis, Joanne “Tigress” Rowley, Michael “Protector” Legerton, Myron “Myron B” Bruce, Rondell Donawa, Selvon “Mistah Shak” and Stacey Sobers.

Another former monarch Roderick “Chuck Gordon” Gordon, was named as a reserve, which means he would be allowed to take the position of any finalist who fails to perform on Sunday.

With music provided by Errol Ince and the Music Makers Orchestra, some 40 semi-finalists took the Skinner Park stage during the Calypso Fiesta on Saturday.

With each trying to get the edge over the other, artistes walked with their dancers, props and back-up singers to enhance their performances. Some of them even entertained the crowd with opening skits to make their presentations more dramatic. A few of the contestants used their songs to express their concerns with the problems plaguing society, including crime, recession, child abuse, corruption and other issues. Other artistes, like Maria Bhola, who sang about Vicky Boodram’s escape from prison, delivered humorous presentations which left the crowd in stitches. Although he did not qualify for the finals, four time former calypso monarch Weston “Cro Cro” Rawlins was definitely one of the crowd’s favourites with his song Belated, which criticised Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley and his ministers for turning their backs on him.

The contestants, however, were awarded points by the eight adjudicators based on melody (30 points), lyrics (30 points), rendition (20 points), presentation (10 points) and originality (10 points).

Patrons were also entertained by guest performers, including artistes Naila Blackman, Patrice Roberts, Timothy “Baron” Watkins, Robert “Lord Nelson” Nelson and Johnny King.


• Aaron St Louis - Year for Love

• Kurt Allen - Circle Square Science

• Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna - Finally

• Karene Asche - Song of Inspiration

• Sandra “Singing Sandra” Des Vignes-Millington - Power in Song

• Alana “Lady Watchman” Sinnette-Khan - Dead Beat

• Carlos “Skatie” James - Ah Cut Back

• Dexter “The Stinger” Parsons - Chinese Tuition

• Helon Francis - Change

• Joanne “Tigress” Rowley - Rowley to Rowley

• Michael “Protector” Legerton - We Could do Better than That

• Myron “Myron B” Bruce - The Great Nation

• Rondell Donawa - De Problem

• Selvon “Mistah Shak - Rebellion

• Stacey Sobers - Calypso Capital

Source: www.guardian.co.tt (Sascha Wilson)

Favourite count: 
Favourite count ids: