Registration begins for THA elections

Candidates from at least four political parties will today register for the January 23rd THA elections.

Among the parties contesting the race are the PNM, the Tobago Forwards, and the Progressive Democratic Party.

CNC3 News understands that the process has so far been incident free. The THA elections are due every four years.

The People's National Movement won the last elections in 2013 by crushing the Tobago Organisation of the People 12 to nil.

Tobagonians go to the polls on January 23rd for THA elections

Tobagonians will go to the polls to elect 12 news representatives to represent respective districts in the Tobago House of Assembly elections.

The announcement came via a press release from the Office of the Prime Minister.

The statement said;

"The Public is hereby notified that the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago has fixed Monday January 23rd, 2017 as the date for the election of members to serve in the Tobago House of Assembly. Consequently, nomination day shall be January 3rd, 2017."

The THA elections are due every four years.