Soca Monarch

Power, Groovy return to Soca Monarch

A lit­tle bit of old and a lit­tle bit of new as new­ly- ap­point­ed chair­man of the In­ter­na­tion­al So­ca Monarch, Fay Ann Lyons-Al­varez con­firmed that the Pow­er So­ca and Groovy So­ca cat­e­gories have made their way back in­to the com­pe­ti­tion brand­ed “Fan­tas­tic Fri­day.”

Speak­ing to re­porters at a press con­fer­ence held at the Hy­att Re­gency yes­ter­day, Lyons-Al­varez said, “Any­body who is a So­ca Monarch fan knows that Pow­er So­ca is So­ca Monarch. That’s the ba­sis of So­ca Monarch.”

Soca Monarch hattrick for 'Voice'

Aaron St Louis, 'The Voice' has done it again, wining the 2018 Soca Monarch competition, making it a hattrick of victories in the competition.

Voice, performing in position number 11 with "Year of Love" was once again the judges favourite, following on victories with "Cheers to Life" in 2016 and "Far From Finish" in 2017.

Dexter "Blaxx" Stewart placed 2nd with "Hulk", while Orlando Octave was adjudged 3rd with "Love you so".

Trevor Turner was fourth with "Champions".

Camejo brothers win Junior, Senior categories of Schools Soca Monarch competition

Sibings Stephan Camejo of Sacred Heart Boy's School and Segio Camejo of Our Lady of Fatima College have topped the Junior and Senior categories of the National Schools Soca Monarch Competition.

The competition was held at the Queen's Park Savannah today.

The following are the results:

Junior Category

1st. Stefan Camejo - Sacred Heart Boys’ - "Back on de Road"

2nd. N'janela Duncan-Regis - Eshe's Learning Centre - "Rise"

3rd. Terry Perez - Arima Boys’ Government - "Choose"

Soca Monarch semi-final placements decided

Soca artists seeking to qualify for the International Soca Monarch Final on Fantastic Friday, have drawn their places for the semi-final contest.

The artists made their picks at the NLCB Box at the Queen's Park Oval on Wednesday.

The semi-finals will take place on February 5th at the Arima Velodrome. 

The artist order of appearance for the semi-finals is as follows:

1. Omardath Maharaj              

2. Sasha   

3. Linkyfirst              

4. Sekon Sta            

5. Mical Teja            

6. One Voice